Sesame Street, positivity

July 26, 2009 at 11:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I would love to see something like this on an Irish children’s show. Does it seem impossible, or plausible to you? I don’t remember ever seeing a breastfeeding baby on kids’ tv.

Children are interested to see babies feeding. My daughter’s friend’s eyes bugged out on stalks when she saw me using abreast pump. I told her what I was doing and asked her if she was freaked out, and she said ‘Yeah!’

Would she have been as freaked out if she saw it all the time, say, if her mother used one for her little sister?

Conversely, my husband had a conversation with our daughter recently, where she asked where she had been born, in this house? Here? In Ireland? And where her brother had been born – here? In the same place?

Then she asked where her Dad had been born, and when he told her he’d been born in hospital, she was incredulous. In a hospital??

Normal is just what you’re used to, I suppose. *

*disclaimer: it is not the aim of this post to suggest that everyone should have homebirths and breastfeed – just observations on the way we learn our world.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my God! I remember this! I used to watch it with my children. Buffy used to sing this little song to Cody and it went something like, “Oh Cody, I love you so much, you’re my little baby bunny in a little bunny hutch.”
    A sweet memory and I miss nursing my babies so much, even though they are grown, grown, grown!

  2. I love this, go Sesame Street!! I wish they played it here.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

