Lactating Men, Halleluiah

September 13, 2009 at 10:28 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

 

Have a read of this, ladies.

You might have read the article in the Irish Times this week, by Isabe Conroy, about the Swedish Economics student who is pumping every three hours in an effort to stimulate man-lactation. Those Swedes, eh?

“I am going to have to pull out the pump sometimes during lectures but it really doesn’t bother me if it makes people uncomfortable. If they have issues with it, that’s their problem,” he declared.

Snigger.

The article touches on the way people, women in particular, might respond to the idea of men doing the breastfeeding. Unsurprisingly, many people are disturbed by the thought. A salient point made though, is that this would be significant for stay at home fathers, as plenty of women are unable to breastfeeding because of jobs, illness, or lactation failure.

The article ends by offering the suggestion of Swedish Professor Werner, who recommends men use their nipples not as milk providers,  but in the same comforting breastfeeding role as women do. You know, in the moment, when the soother isn’t readily available.

Oh, I don’t know. I’d love to hear your responses. I do remember feeling great delight when my wolverine of a baby daughter got hungry fast and latched on to her Dad’s nipple through his t shirt (I was equally pleased the time he got hemmorhoids, but that’s another story). Men do seem to be growing more endowed in the moob department these days. But my husband’s chest is very hairy. And he sprays his deodorant across it, blech.  I don’t really like to think of my sweet, soft faced little darlings snuggling up against all that. Look at the alarm on that child’s face. Sure, he could be just looking for his mother and saying ‘This beardy Jeremy irons-alike is not my father, what’s going on?!’ But I could also see it saying ‘Why has Dad waxed? Something’s not right here, Ma, come and get me!’

The possessive mother in me wants to be proud of having something I alone could give my children. Their dad’s milk could never be as good as mine! Despite feelings of resentment I may also have harboured while sitting under a constantly feeding newborn while Daddy swanned off out the door for the next ten hours. To drink alcohol…

So what do you think? Would you share, or hand over the task?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Brill, I have been telling Philip to try and soothe her with his nipple!! Just forwarded to him in work….


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

